top of page

08/16 2019

AG DOK ACADEMY: MASTERCLASS CAMERA - BÖRRES WEIFFENBACH

AG DOK

INSPIRATION AND MOTIVATION OF AN EMOTIONALLY STRONG IMAGE LANGUAGE OF DOCUMENTARY FORMATS

The cameraman Börres Weiffenbach (Grimme Prize, German Camera Prize, Bavarian Television Prize) gives an insight into the basics of the artistic visual language of cinematic narratives. It is about the content of the camera and the positioning on the topic and the handling of the technology in the team and in the encounter with the protagonists. A critical examination of the visual language is intended to raise awareness of the strengths of the cinematic narrative.

 

Based on his own experiences and selected scenes from nonfiction films, Weiffenbach talks about strategies of image design.
- Which thoughts and planning in advance of a film production are important when developing a camera concept?
- How does the attitude of the filmmakers towards their subjects and protagonists affect the development and implementation of the camera concept?
- What influence does the collaboration with the director have on the image design of the film?
- How does the size of a documentary team affect the intimacy of a scene and which strategies can be used to transfer emotional moments and scenes into a strong cinematic narrative with sensitivity and respect for the protagonists?

The seminar is aimed at camerawomen and cameramen as well as directors. Producers also learn how budget decisions affect the artistic work in the team and what consequences they have to bear together with their team.

The lecturer Börres Weiffenbach is concerned with creating an awareness of the requirements of camera work in the documentary work process and developing strategies and concepts for an emotionally strong and high-quality visual language together with the course participants. The attitude of the entire team behind the camera plays a decisive role in the successful cinematic implementation. According to Weiffenbach, high-quality image design does not depend on the overall budget of a production. Rather, it is important to find the right visual language depending on the subject of the film, the camera equipment that can be financed and the director's concept. At the same time, with small film budgets, it is important to be aware of the effects on image design and practical implementation on location.

(NOT NEEDED YOUR OWN CAMERAS)

lecturer

Börres Weiffenbach has made more than 40 documentaries over the past 20 years. His camera work has been awarded several times with the Grimme Prize and the German Camera Prize, most recently for the feature film "Dead Man Working". Three documentaries photographed by Weiffenbach were awarded the Bavarian Film Awards in the Best Documentary category. The film Master Of The Universe received the European Film Prize in 2014. Films photographed by Weiffenbach are shown at national and international festivals.

time + place

Friday 08/16/19
from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m

Guild management in the Arminius market hall
Arminiusstrasse 2-4
10551 Berlin-Moabit
(near underground station Turmstrasse)

participation fees

AG DOK members: 100 €
Other associations with a cooperation agreement*: €145
Non-members*: €200

The amount includes all teaching and practice units as well as meals. The catering includes a warm buffet at lunchtime.

Bonus vouchers from the education bonus program are accepted!

*The fee savings when joining the AG DOK can be so great that you receive the member services in addition to attending the seminar and still pay less overall, so it may be worth taking a look at our service overview and the fee rates.

For more information or bookings please send an email to:akademie@agdok.de

Bookings by August 16, 2019 are no longer possible!

bottom of page

ZUNFTWIRTSCHAFT 

Arminiusstraße 2-4 

10551 Berlin

info@zunft-wirtschaft.de

+49 30 12089778 

+49 170 58 10 100

Jeden Tag geöffnet von 16:00 Uhr bis wir keine Lust mehr haben. Nur Sonn- und Feiertags ruhen wir uns (manchmal) aus, es sei denn, Sie wollen bei uns feiern. 

© 2019 ZUNFTWIRTSCHAFT Restaurant. 

Proudly created with Wix.com

16.08. 2019

AG DOK AKADEMIE: MASTERCLASS KAMERA - BÖRRES WEIFFENBACH

AG DOK

INSPIRATION UND MOTIVATION EINER EMOTIONAL STARKEN BILDSPRACHE DOKUMENTARISCHER FORMATE

Der Kameramann Börres Weiffenbach (Grimme Preis, Deutscher Kamerapreis, Bayerischer Fernsehpreis) gibt einen Einblick in die Grundlagen der künstlerischen Bildsprache filmischer Erzählungen. Dabei geht es um die inhaltlich Haltung der Kamera und die Positionierung zum Thema und den Umgang mit der Technik im Team und in der Begegnung mit den Protagonist*innen. Eine kritische Auseinandersetzung mit der Bildsprache soll das Bewusstsein für die Stärken der filmischen Erzählung schulen.

 

Anhand eigener Erfahrungen und ausgewählter Szenen nonfiktionaler Filme spricht Weiffenbach über Strategien der Bildgestaltung.
- Welche Gedanken und Planungen im Vorfeld einer Filmproduktion sind wichtig bei der Entwicklung eines Kamerakonzeptes?
- Wie wirkt sich die Haltung der Filmemacher*innen zu ihren Sujets und Protagonist*innen auf die Entwicklung und Umsetzung des Kamerakonzeptes aus?
- Welchen Einfluss hat die Zusammenarbeit mit der Regisseurin oder dem Regisseur auf die Bildgestaltung des Filmes?
- Wie wirkt sich die Größe eines dokumentarischen Teams auf die Intimität einer Szene aus und mit welchen Strategien können emotionale Momente und Szenen gefühlvoll und mit Respekt gegenüber den Protagonist*innen in eine starke filmische Erzählung übertragen werden?

Das Seminar richtet sich sowohl an Kamerafrauen und Kameramänner als auch an Regisseurinnen und Regisseure. Produzent*innen erfahren zudem wie sich Budgetentscheidungen auf die künstlerische Arbeit im Team auswirken und welche Konsequenzen sie gemeinsam mit ihrem Team tragen müssen.

Dem Dozenten Börres Weiffenbach geht es darum, ein Bewusstsein für die Erfordernisse der Kameraarbeit im dokumentarischen Arbeitsprozess zu schaffen und gemeinsam mit den Kursteilnehmer*innen Strategien und Konzepte für eine emotional starke und qualitativ hochwertige Bildsprache zu entwickeln. Dabei spielt die Haltung des gesamten Teams hinter der Kamera eine entscheidende Rolle für die erfolgreiche filmische Umsetzung. Eine hochwertige Bildgestaltung ist nach Ansicht von Weiffenbach nicht vom Gesamtbudget einer Produktion abhängig. Wichtig ist vielmehr in Abhängigkeit von dem Sujet des Filmes, dem finanzierbaren Kameraequipment und dem Regiekonzept die dazu passende Bildsprache zu finden. Gleichzeitig ist es wichtig, bei kleinen Filmbudgets sich über die Auswirkungen auf die Bildgestaltung und die praktische Umsetzung am Drehort bewusst zu sein.

(EIGENE KAMERAS WERDEN NICHT BENÖTIGT)

Dozent

Börres Weiffenbach drehte in den vergangen 20 Jahren mehr als 40 Dokumentarfilme. Seine Kameraarbeit wurde mehrfach mit dem Grimme-Preis und dem Deutschen Kamerapreis ausgezeichnet, zuletzt für den Spielfilm „Dead Man Working“. Drei von Weiffenbach fotografierte Dokumentarfilme wurden mit dem Bayerischen Filmpreise in der Kategorie Bester Dokumentarfilm ausgezeichnet. Der Film Master Of The Universe erhielt 2014 den Europäischen Filmpreis. Von Weiffenbach fotografierte Filme laufen auf nationalen und internationalen Festivals.

Zeit + Ort

Freitag, der 16.08.19
von 10–18 Uhr

Zunftwirtschaft in der Arminiusmarkthalle
Arminiusstrasse 2-4
10551 Berlin-Moabit
(Nähe U-Bahnhof Turmstrasse)

Teilnahmegebühren

AG DOK-Mitglieder: 100 €
Andere Verbände mit Kooperationsvereinbarung*: 145 €
Nicht-Mitglieder*: 200 €

Der Betrag beinhaltet alle Lehr- und Übungseinheiten sowie Verpflegung. Das Catering umfasst mittags ein warmes Buffet.

Prämiengutscheine des Programms Bildungsprämie werden akzeptiert!

*Die Gebühren-Ersparnis bei einem Beitritt zur AG DOK kann so groß sein, dass sie neben dem Besuch des Seminars zusätzliche die Mitglieder-Leistungen erhalten und insgesamt trotzdem weniger zahlen, daher kann sich ein Blick auf unsere Leistungsübersicht und die Beitragstarife lohnen.

Für mehr Informationen oder Buchungen bitte eine Mail an: akademie@agdok.de

Buchungen zum 16.08.2019 sind nicht mehr möglich!